You are here

Awards & Recognition

Dr. Afef Fekih Receives 2022 Distinguished Professor Award 

The UL Lafayette Foundation sponsors the annual awards, which are the highest recognition the University confers on faculty. 

Dr. Afef Fekih holds the Harold Callais/BORSF Endowed Professorship in Electrical and Computer Engineering and the O'Krepi/BORSF Professorship in Telecommunications. She is director of the University's Advanced Control Systems Laboratory. Her research was featured by the Thomas Reuters Science Watch Essential Science Indicators. An inspiration to many with whom she works, Dr. Fekih's highly acclaimed research work continues to attract undergraduate and graduate students to electrical and computer engineering.  

Congratulations Dr. Fekih!

(Read more about Dr. Fekih's 2022 Distinguished Professor Award) 

Eminent Faculty Awards

Established in 1965, the Eminent Faculty Awards are the highest recognition the University confers on faculty.







  • Dr. Boyun Guo, Professor of Petroleum Engineering -Eminent Scholar
    (Read more about Dr. Guo's 2017 Eminent Scholar Award)
  • Dr. Daniel Gang, Professor of Civil Engineering -Eminent Scholar, Achievement in Innovation
  • Dr. Yin Feng, College of Engineering -Eminent Scholar
  • Dr. Terrance Chambers, Professor of Mechanical Engineering -Eminent Scholar


A Fellow of a scholarly society is someone who has been recognized as having made an important contribution to the goals of the society, through their research and service to the community.